WITS is a voluntary organisation and is operated in accordance with the association’s rules.

Each year at the AGM an executive is elected as per the rules and they are tasked with running the organisation on a day-to-day basis.

Michael D. Higgins
President of Ireland

Catriona Ward
Aileen McGrath

Mary Sharp
Ena Prosser

EXECUTIVE 2017/2018
Chair: Julie Hogan
Vice-Chair: Lara Cutlar
Treasurer: Marie Barrett
Secretary: vacant

Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain
Anne-Marie Flaherty
Belinda Grehan
Fardus Sultan
Laura Murphy
Lisa Cavern
Magaly Mora (Cork)
Marion Palmer
Orla Sherwood
Sandra Riordan (Galway)
Una Parsons (Sligo/Leitrim)


Julie Hogan

Julie Hogan

Julie Hogan studied Electronics Engineering in NIHE Limerick, and has been working in R&D for the past 26 years in Ireland and abroad.

Currently she runs a small R&D team in Memjet Ireland, Dublin, with a team of 13 scientists and engineers (4 of whom are women) working on digital print engine controller design and MEMS printhead design. Her current role combines technical, project management and management responsibilities, and she has previously worked in all three areas at different times for ARM in Cambridge, ParthusCeva in Dublin, Silicon and Software Systems (S3) in Dublin and AT&T in Bray with secondments to the Netherlands and Australia.



Dr Marion Palmer

Dr Marion Palmer is an experienced academic and higher education manager. She was head of the Department of Technology and Psychology at Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (IADT).

Her research interests are teaching, assessment and technology enhanced learning. Prior to joining IADT Marion was a science teacher and also worked in curriculum development. Marion joined Women in Technology and Science (WITS) at its inception in 1990, was chair 2013-2016 and is now a member of the Executive. Marion tweets @marionjpalmer.


Lara Cutlar

Lara Cutlar

Lara Cutlar completed her PhD at UCD in the summer of 2015, and is continuing that work on a non-viral gene therapy for a terrible skin fragility condition, called Recessive Dystrophic Epidermolysis Bullosa (RDEB) at the Charles Institute of Dermatology. She works with polymers, which also have really long names and bacteria to make a DNA delivery system for the skin of people with RDEB. Her past positions include those at the Health Research Board (HRB) and Quintiles. She is an active member of the Research Staff Association (RSA) in UCD, fundraises for DEBRA Ireland, and actively pursues the dissemination of how awesome science is. She tweets at @cuttyla.


Magaly Mora

Magaly V. Mora is a quality professional with experience in manufacturing and validations environments of electronic products and medical devices. She studied Electronics and Communications Engineering and a Master of Science with specialisation in Quality Systems and Productivity in Mexico (ITESM). Magaly is a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt and an ISO Internal Auditor. Magaly is interested in volunteering causes related to education. She is a link creator who enjoys meeting new people and working with multidisciplinary teams. She is a WITS member since October 2016 and she is interested to know more STEM women. Magaly tweets @MagalyVarinia


Marie Barrett

Marie Barrett








Lisa Cavern

Lisa Cavern

Lisa Cavern is a postgraduate student of Computing and Software Development at DIT, currently working on her final project: an online grammar practice game for primary school students. As an educator Lisa has taught in a range of contexts including primary schools, adult education centres, coding workshops and outdoor schools. Lisa loves learning and sharing the why and how of the world around us and is passionate about promoting equality in the sciences and technology.


Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain

Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain is an Assistant Professor in the UCD School of Mathematics & Statistics. A graduate of Theoretical Physics from UCD, Aoibhinn taught Mathematics, Physics, Applied Mathematics & Science at second level before commencing her PhD in Trinity College Dublin.

As a science communicator, she actively promotes science and presents RTE’s flagship science programme ’10 things to know about…’ She is director of the Maths Sparks outreach programme at UCD.



Fardus Sultan

Fardus Sultan is a Co-founder and Managing Director of FarendNet Ltd, an IT consultancy and graphic design company. She is a Politics and Arabic graduate from the UCD, a holder of iDTP Master Diploma in Graphic Design and a first class honors recipient in Masters of Science in Cyberpsychology where she also received “The Student of the Year” award.
Fardus is also very active in the community where she participates in various boards of management.  She is currently the Chairperson of women4women DLR (a women’s organization with particular focus on disadvantaged and ethnic minority women) and a founding member of Sisters of Faith for Peace (women’s only interfaith organization in Ireland).  She is also a PPN representative at the Economic Development and Enterprise Special Policy Committee of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council.


Laura Murphy

Laura is a PhD student in Trinity College Dublin studying the first stellar explosions and their progenitors as an awardee of the IRC postgraduate research award. A Naughton scholar and graduate of TCD in Physics and Astrophysics, Laura is passionate about her research having completed her final year project studying binary stars, as well as a placement in Nottingham Trent University in Imaging and Sensing for Art Conservation and History. She has great interest in outreach and knowledge sharing, having been involved in projects such as City of Physics and volunteering with TCD Physics helproom, in addition to her work with WITS.


Úna Parsons

Úna Parsons is Head of the School of Engineering & Design in IT Sligo since April 2017. She is an experienced and award-winning Chartered Engineer and held the post of Head of Department of Mechanical & Electronic Engineering at IT Sligo since 2012. Her association with the college stretches back to her own student days – as a Toolmaking apprentice in the former Sligo Regional Technical College (RTC).

Prior to joining IT Sligo, Una was Chief Executive Officer of the Crafts Council of Ireland and previously held senior roles with Engineers Ireland and Bausch & Lomb – one of the world’s largest suppliers of eye health products. As Industry Director with Engineers Ireland, she helped devise and develop the inaugural Engineers Week in 2007, which has become a nationwide, week-long programme of events celebrating the world of engineering. Úna is a mechanical engineer and a fellow of Engineers Ireland.



Orla Sherwood

Orla Sherwood is a Masters student in Science Communication, having previously completed a degree in Biochemistry and Molecular biology. During her undergraduate degree, she was very involved in student life acting as treasurer of both UCD Science Society and UCD Biological Society.

In her work with UCD Science Society, she was involved in raising €56,750 for Children’s Medical and Research Foundation, Crumlin. She currently works with the UCD Outreach team in engaging primary and secondary school students with science as a possible career. Following her graduation, she plans to pursue a PhD in plant biology. As part of the WITS 2018 Executive, she hopes to have a chance to engage with WITS members and apply her skills of science communication.

WITS is primarily funded by corporate and individual members subscriptions. Funding has been received from the EU and the Irish Government for specific projects.